US$52.80 US$30.59

1 in stock


Date Of Arrival : 7th Nov 2015

Recorded in 1997 and 1998, the album “Electro-Shock Blues” was influenced by the death of Mark Oliver Everett’s father, the 1996 suicide of his sister, and the loss of his mother to lung cancer in 1998. That was his entire family. He ultimately decided he could not ignore these things artistically, feeling that anything else would be an act. So he set about the writing and recording of an album that was inspired by, and that would deal with the tragedies in his life, but only if it could offer a new point of view, and a positive resolution. It was a challenge that E rose to on the critically acclaimed Electro-Shock Blues album. While some would assume it to be a depressing album, E called it “probably the most positive record I will ever make.” The album, now considered a late 90s rock classic, can at first prove to be a difficult listen, but soon reveals a life-affirming heart. Guests on the album included E’s neighbors and friends, Mike Simpson of the Dust Brothers, Mickey Petralia, Grant Lee Phillips of Grant Lee Buffalo, Lisa Germano, Jon Brion, and T-Bone Burnett.

• Double LP

LP 1
Side A:

1. Elizabeth On the Bathroom Floor
2. Going To Your Funeral Part I
3. Cancer For the Cure
4. My Descent Into Madness
Side B:
1. 3 Speed
2. Hospital Food
3. Electro-Shock Blues
4. Efils’ God

LP 2
Side C:

1. Going to Your Funeral Part II
2. Last Stop: This Town
3. Baby Genius
4. Climbing To the Moon
Side D:
1. Ant Farm
2. Dead of Winter
3. The Medication Is Wearing Off
4. P.S. You Rock My World

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Eels – Electro-Shock Blues.”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *